In many countries, young people are granted certain privileges and responsibility at the age of sixteen. Clearly parents have a responsibility to prepare their children as they approach this important milestone. To what degree should parents intervene in the lives of their 14-15 year-old children?

It is observed that in many nations, the age of sixteen marks an important phase of the youth’s lives as they are bestowed with particular responsiblities and rights to act in their will. Undoubtedly, the preparation for this unique turning point involves the efforts of the parents. However, there is a limit to parental invervention in the lives of the 14-15-year-olds.

On one hand, parents need both flexible approaches and strict measures to forge a sense of appreciation towards the increasing freedom allowed in young citizens’ perspectives. They should draw up a code of conduct, outlining basic rules that every family member should follow, and review it periodically with proper adjustments based on ideas coming from both the parents and the children. Failing to adhere to the established rules should result in completing practical tasks in an certain extended amount of time such as cleaning the floor for the whole week as a form of discipline. This approach should help parents to exert a constructive influence on their childrens’ attitudes towards the responsibilities associated with the increasing liberty while still maintaining a strong sense of justice within the household.

On the other hand, for adolescents in the 14-15 age group, it is ill-advised for parents to have too much inteference with their youngsters’ lives. Parents should not impose their own perspectives and expectations on their children and rely on punishments to keep them under control. A relatable example here is when parents force their children to study certain subjects more intensively because of their envisions instead of their children’ personal inclinations. In many cases, this method is responsible for the increasing resentment the youngsters hold for the authority figures in the family, which may result in them adopting anti-social and rebellious behavior to express their newfound independence.

In conclusion, it is necessary for parents to help shaping the view of youngsters as they take on more duties and rights. However, it is important that the approach is appropriate and gives the young ones enough freedom to exercise their rights properly.