In many countries, young people are granted certain privileges and responsibilities at the age of sixteen. Clearly, parents have a responsibility to both care for and prepare their children as they approach this important milestone.

To what degree should parents intervene in the lives of their 14-15 years old children?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Teenagers at their 14 or 15 are the most controversial and unpredictable group. They are on the threshold of adulthood and cannot wait to make their first step as an adult. If parents pose a tight control over them, they could become more rebellious; if they are granted with too much freedom, they could easily go astray. Therefore, it is crucial for parents to adopt an appropriate policy to the 14 or 15-years-old children.

For on thing, those children should learn how to make decisions on their own. Teenagers at that age have already familiarizes with the basic principles and knowledge in life. For example, they have been educated that murder and stealing is against the law. therefore, if parents continue to keep their children in the cradle, it would be detrimental to their further development and children would be less independent.

For another, children at that age are full of curiosity. The outside world are so tempting that they can easily lose their self-discipline. The violent movies, pornography, drugs and sex all pose a bad influence on the children’s judgement. If parent do not give an effective and in time guide, the consequence could be disastrous.

Another important change parents should make when their children turned 14 or 15 is to stop taking responsibilities for their children, it is generally acceptable that if a child make a mistake at their early age, it is all right fro the parent to take the responsibility for them, like compensate for the broken window or apologize or the bullied children. Parents are doing this to set and example about how to make amends for mistakes. However, when the children grow older, they should be responsible for their one behavior so that they would learn their lessons.

In short, 14 to15-year-old children should be granted the right to make their own decision with the proper guidance from parents. Also, 14 and 15 is the age when children learn to take responsibility of their own behavior.