Some people prefer to provide help or support directly to the local community. Others prefer to give money to national or international charitable organizations. Discuss both and give opinion.

Approaches to provision of help are quite a debatable topic. While a certain portion of the population contribute directly to specific areas in need of help, others opt to donate money to organisations operating on national or international scale. Both of these views will be discussed in the following essay before my standpoint is stated.

On one hand, direct support is compelling for various causes. Forefront among these is that it is less reliant on money and thus, more suitable for those who are financially restricted. For instance, in Vietnam, young students, in particular, and people in the low-income bracket, in general, often participate directly in charitable activities, including serving foods to the poor in slums and teaching disadvantaged children in foster facilities. Also, it is often noted that taking part in on-site activities in damaged communities can fill participants with a strong sense of fulfillment and pride. This sensation is often shared by groups of volunteers who go to remote places affected by floods to help rebuild residents’ houses, as they witness not only their efforts manifesting physical results but also the gratitude of the vulnerable towards their selfless actions.

On the other hand, it is understandable that monetary donations to credible organisations is also a good option. To begin with, residents of modern societies tend to have busy schedules, which renders them lacking the time and knowledge required for direct involvement. However, through financial contribution, which is also a meaningful gesture, they can facilitate other better-qualified individuals to do the work. Furthermore, with the help of professional charitable organisations, the reach of well-meaning donations could be extended. To illustrate this, when Haiti is devastated by earthquakes and tsunamis, people from all countries could send help through their donations, especially in the form of money.

Taking both sets of arguments into consideration, I believe that both approaches are legible. Each person should get to choose an approach suitable to their capacity, in terms of time, finance and also knowledge.