Today food travels from thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people say that it would be better for the economy & environment if people ate food produced from local farmers.

Would the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, food is seen being transported vast distances from where it is produced in order to reach its consumer. This gives rise to opposite views with some people believe that is would more beneficial for the economy and environment if locally produced food were favored. However, I reckon that these gains might be outweighed by the losses.

On one hand, there are compelling reasons why consuming local food is a promosing trend. Forefront among these is the economic benefits to those involved in local food production. In other words, as residents turn to locally available produce, a stable income is generated, consequentially enhancing the life quality of farmers and owners of food stores. Furthermore, environmental implications are also noteworthy. Should less food be transported over a long distance, a significant reduction in harmful emissions from vehicles such as trucks and lorries might follow, which lowers levels of air pollution.

On the other hand, prioritising regional produce can also have negative impacts. First and foremost, not only consumers in one region are deprived of the chance to enjoy unique flavors from other places but also places that rely on food production to survive will suffer. For instance, without non-local demand for pomegranate, Thanh Hoa would be still be a poor area as the soil of this region is only suitable for growing this particular fruit. What is more, growing food is simply not a practical option for some areas, especially industrial zones or densely populated urban centers. For the residents in these places, buying food from neighboring towns is not a luxury option but a survival need.

Taking into consideration both sets of arguments, I hold the view that shifting towards consuming only local food items yields has more issues than it does benefits.