Today food travels from thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people say that it would be better for the economy & environment if people ate food produced from local farmers.

Would the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern times, food is transported over vast distances from where it is produced to the buyer. This gives rise to opposing views, with some contending that consuming local produce would be a more beneficial direction, both in environmental and economic terms. The merits and drawbacks of the given idea will be presented in the following essay.

On one hand, shifting towards food grown on local farms could be a good option for several reasons. Forefront among these is the economic benefits to those involved in the process of food production and distribution, especially farmers and food store owners. In other words, when buyers favour regional produce more, producers and distributors will earn more money, which could raise their living standards. Furthermore, should food be transported shorter distances, a reduction in carbon emissions from diesel-based vehicles such as trucks or lorries might follow. This means better air quality, in particular, and cleaner environment, in broad.

On the other hand, the drawbacks cannot be overlooked. Regions where external sales of agricultural products are the main source of income are the first to suffer. Take Vietnam as an example. Had it not been for non-national demand for fruits and rice from Europe, which generates a stable revenue for the country, this agricultural-based nation might still be poor. In addition, it is worth remarking that growing food independently is not a viable option for certain areas, such as industrial zones or densely populated metropolitans, owing to their use of land not allowing large scale food production. As such, for residents in these areas, consuming food delivered from other places is not a dispensable alternative but a survival necessity.

Taking both sets of arguments into consideration, I take the view that removing long-distanced food transport yields more issues than it does positive impacts.