In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of a large, extended family. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It has been observed that citizens in urban centers prefer to be singletons or live with their small-sized families rather than with their extended families. Considering the benefits in terms of freedom and finance, I believe that this is a positive trend.

Forefront among the advantages of the life of a singleton is freedom of choice as multigenerational families often experience conflicts of lifestyles. For instance, young members of the family, due to their newfound employment, may come home late often and bother their seniors, who expect the young ones to be home on time for family meals. Regular quarrels over such differences cause not only inconvenience for both sides but also affect family bonds. By contrast, living alone or in small family units enables people to have more control over their life and reduce avoidable conflicts with other family members.

In addition, it should be remarked that living independently in big cities could make better financial sense, since housing and living expenses tend to be costly in these areas. In Vietnam, the old quarter near the city center often sees families of 10 cramping in tiny rundown apartments. In these places, residents often deal with a range of issues such as the lack of clean water supplies and expensive electricity bills, which could lower their quality of life. Opting for a single life or a small family is a sensible solution to these problems, giving people better living conditions.

A popular argument against this modern trend is that it increases feelings of isolation for singletons and weakens family ties. However, these psychological issues could be tackled in different ways, ranging from going out with friends to paying a monthly visit to other family members.

In conclusion, opting for the life of a singleton or in small family units is a beneficial development.