In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of a large, extended family. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is observed that in several countries, residents of metropolitan areas tend to live as singletons or with their nuclear families instead of living in multigenerational households. Personally, I believe this is a positive trend, which will be proven in the following essay.

Forefront among the benefits of the aforementioned trend is freedom of choice. Large families often have conflicts of lifestyles, because different generations want and value different things. For instance, while young members of a family would prioritize work over family time, the elderly often expect their children or grandchildren to put aside work to come home early. Regular quarrels over differences such as this can lead to higher levels of dissatisfaction among family members and strained relationships. In answer to this problem, living alone or with small family units enables people to have the liberty to pursue their goals, without having to deal with constant judgement or criticism.

Furthermore, the modern trend is also financial sensible, as housing and living expenses in densely populated cities are quite costly. To give an illustration, the old quarter in Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam, sees families of 10 cramping in tiny rundown apartments. These large families frequently experience issues such as the lack of clean water and expensive electricity bills. Living alone or with fewer family members would help to reduce pressure on infrastructure, allowing for a higher standard of living.

A popular argument against the trend observed points out the negative impacts on people’s mental health and family ties. However, these problems could be dealt accordingly by scheduling enough time for social activities and family reunions.

Considering the arguments above, I believe that the trend to live alone or in small families has notable merits, outweighing its drawbacks and making it a beneficial development overall.