Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are opposing views regarding how new houses are constructed. While some believe that these buildings should conform to the style set by old houses in the area, others show advocacy towards owners’ freedom of choice. Both views, along with my opinion, will be elaborated on in the following essay.

On one hand, there are sound reasons why new houses should adhere to the style established by older buildings. Forefront among these is that the same architectural style can give an aesthetic appeal and cultural value to an area. This could be seen in the case of the old quarter in Hanoi. As this two-storey housing compound gains widespread recognition for its nostalgic charm, it would be strange to have a towering office building erected in the middle of the area. Furthermore, if houses share the same style, they may incubate a sense of solidarity and uniformity among residents. The most frequently cited reason is that accommodation is perceived as a status symbol; thus, having similar houses makes people more relatable in the eye of their neighbors.

On the other hand, other people contend that homeowners should get to build houses according to their own preferences. The strongest argument for this view is that people have the rights to express themselves, even in their choice of housing style. Ultimately, a house is only worth living if the owner is content with it. Moreover, old houses are notorious for failing to adhere to safety requirements. There is an increasing weight of evidence supporting the notion of old houses being more susceptible to risks of fire or internal structural damage, which makes it ill-advised to follow their style of construction.

Taking into consideration both sets of arguments, I agree that people are entitled to build houses of their own style, but they should, nonetheless, contemplate the overall style of the area and more importantly, ensure safety requirements are met.