Information technology has changed our lives in many ways and dominates our homes, leisure and work activities.

Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

The permeation of information technology in modern societies is well observed as it is present in our homes, our activities at work and for leisure. This has a myriad of benefits, which I would argue to eclipse the drawbacks.

The prevalence of information technology provokes worrying attitudes for several reasons. Forefront among them are concerns regarding addiction to social media and its impact on work activities. Fascination over social networking sites such as Facebook and Instagram is often reflected, for example, in the many hours users spend on these sites, which reduces the amount of time dedicated to work. Another argument against the domination of I.T in the modern world associates its powerful storage capacity with the risk of a security breach. In other words, as individuals and corporations upload their files on to cloud storage, hackers may hijack the system and bypass digital protection to steal confidential information for their own gains.

Nevertheless, advances in the sphere of information technology have notably transformed our societies in positive ways. Entertainment and news update is a good case in point, as those who have access to the Internet can browse Youtube and online newspapers for these respective purposes. Modern households are also changed for the better, becoming safer and convenient as they are equipped with advanced alarming systems and programmed electrical appliances. Most notably, practices at workplace have changed racially due to the strong presence of I.T. The examples are diverse, ranging from online conferences, automation in production lines to huge data storage and manipulation. The problem of a security breach, albeit worth acknowledging, could be solved as new protective measures and complex logarithms are devised.

In conclusion, it is my belief that although the prevalence of I.T does have its downsides, they are still outweighed by their beneficial counterparts.