Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught.

To what extent do you agree/disagree?

The subject of content to teach to students has raised interesting views. One of which suggests that delivering academic knowledge so that learners can succeed in examinations should be the top priority, whereas skills such as cooking or dressing need not to be taught. Despite the importance of exam-oriented understandings, I believe that more emphasis should be placed on the teaching of practical skills.

Equipping students with important knowledge to pass tests is crucial for various reasons. Forefront among these is the fact that obtaining high exam results is a prerequisite condition for admission into quality high schools and universities. For instance, in order to study in medical schools in Vietnam, candidates often have to secure an entrance score of at least 25 out of 30, which could be achieved only by allocating time to practice various test-taking skills. Being part of these educational settings even impacts future employment opportunities. Those who graduate from prestigious programs are often considered qualified for high-paid positions, which is a strong motivation for investment of more time and effort into academic training.

However, practical skills, despite being overlooked in many countries, benefit students tremendously. To begin with, culinary skills, along with other skills such organizing workspace and making timetables, allow students to lead a healthy independent life. Case in point, cooking skills enable students to prepare nutritious meals when they live far from home for education, instead of getting by with only fastfood and microwaveable dishes. Also, it has been noted that joining in classes that are less academically intensive, such as dressing classes, is a fun way to release stress. This, consequentially, allows students to replenish energy and focus more effectively when they return to studying, leading to better examination performances.

In conclusion, even though I acknowledge the importance of exam-focused learning, I hold the view that lessons about practical skills should also be delivered to students, not only for their advantages in real life but also for the positive impacts on test performances .