Information technology has changed our lives in many ways and dominates our homes, leisure and work activities.

Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

The strong presence of information technology in modern society is vividly seen in changes done to our homes and activities for work and leisure. The positives of such prominence are noteworthy, and as will be shown in the following essay, eclipse the negatives.

The pervasive nature of I.T has provoked worrying attitudes for some reasons. Forefront among them are concerns regarding addiction to social media and its adverse impacts on health and work. Daily viewing contents on Facebook or Instagram for many hours, for instance, can reduce time dedicated to work/study and cause eye-related problems such as myopia. Using digital spaces for storing information also runs the risk of a security breach. As individuals and corporations upload private information on to cloud storage, hackers might be able to bypass protective measures and extract confidential information for their own gains.

Nonetheless, it is true that advances in information technology have transformed our lives in positive ways. Better entertainment and news update are prime examples, as those who have access to the Internet can browse Youtube and online newspapers for these respective purposes. Our households have also been made safer and more adapted to our needs with security cameras and electrical appliances that could be remotely controlled. Most notably, productivity at work has been elevated thanks to a wide variety of technology, ranging from video conferencing in boardrooms, automation in production lines to data storage and manipulation on online platforms. Albeit worth acknowledging, problems regarding security can be resolved as more efficient security measures are devised.

Stemming from the arguments above, the benefits of widespread use of information technology should be deemed more impressive than its drawbacks.