Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that instead of focusing on roads, the authorities should invest more money in developing the railway network. Personally, I strongly agree with this suggestion.

One of the main reasons why the construction of railways should be supported is that railways are safer than roads. For instance, the number of casualties caused by road accidents has been reported to be larger than that caused by trains. While trains are controlled by computer programs, road vehicles are driven by people who can violate traffic rules and drive recklessly.

Another argument in favor of railway construction is that commuting by trains has been proven to be faster than by road vehicles. This is largely owing to the fact that while a train is on the move, other vehicles are kept out of its tracks so a train journey rarely gets delayed midway. In contrast, it is more likely to get caught in traffic jams and even lose up to an hour waiting while driving automobiles or motorbikes. Because of this, commuters in Vietnam, for example, prefer to get to work using trains rather than private means of transport like cars.

Lastly, it is worth noting that travelling using the railway network is more environmentally friendly. In modern times, most trains are operated using green technology. For instance, mag-lev trains could help to reduce emissions of exhaust fumes, unlike most types of cars and motorbikes that are used at the moment.

To sum up, I strongly support the view that investment in developing railways should be prioritized over that in improving roads.