Some think that ambition is a good quality.

Is it important to be ambitious?

Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

Being ambitious is, in the view of many, a desirable characteristic. While this quality has proven to play a role in advancing human civilization, it only benefits our society when bound to other traits, including compassion and ethics.

The transformation brought about ambition is witnessed on different scales. On a personal level, aspirations motivate individuals to overcome setbacks to achieve their goals. Taking part in competitions, for instance, can foster such a quality. Collective personal gains can also potentially lead to breakthroughs capable of bettering our society in different areas. This can be seen in the discoveries of antibiotics by ambitious and driven scientists, whose work has safely facilitated a range of medical practices, ranging from surgeries, chemotherapy to organ transplants.

The aforementioned benefits, however, are only achievable when ambition is compounded with ethics and conscience. Left unchecked, this quality is more corrosive than constructive. Those who are blindly ambitious lack the knowledge of their own limitations and genuine good will towards others, which could result in irrational and selfish actions. Athletes that dessert sportsmanship and use dopings to gain an advantage in sports tournaments are examples of such blind conviction. Examining a larger scale, unethical ambition can corrupt our society. Those in high-caliber positions, such as politicians, when driven by their lust for money and more power can indeed cause sufferings to a significant proportion of the population.

As proven above, ambition has indeed helped driven human societies forward, but yet, can be denatured when severed from considerations for social benefits.