It has been claimed that workers over 50 are not responsive to rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace and that for this reason younger workers are to be preferred. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, the ideas in modern work environments have been changing, thus it is believed that workers over 50 will not respond quickly to this and it is better to employ younger people as replacements. In my opinion, I partially agree with this view.

To begin with, there are several reasons for employers to use older workers at workplace. Firstly, it is certainly true that older employees have more work experiences than younger people that are indispensable in any environment. Obviously, in addition to necessary knowledge of a job at workplace, experience is also a thing which employers need and this factor can be satisfied completely by older employees. Secondly the loyalty factor is also connected with old workers. Workers over 50 often tend to find stable jobs, whereas young people don’t exhibit the trend of working in a kind of job for a long period of time.

However, young employees also have some remarkable qualifications which can convince employers to hire them. Responding rapidly to the changes in modern work places is the first important element which can be clearly observed in young workers. For example, in the fast development of the high-tech industry, young employees will learn new technology easier and quicker than older people and this brings many benefits to companies. Furthermore, young people have the capacity to deal with pressures at work better than older employees. Evidence suggests that the majority of older workers quit their jobs because they cannot bear an enormous amount of pressures at work.

In conclusion, I think that a mix qualities of old and young professionals is conducive to ensuring the most productive work environment.