It has been said that people who read for pleasure have more developed imaginations and language skills than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that someone believes that reading for pleasure does wonder for imagination and language skills than people who have a thing for watching TV. I completely agree with the positive impact of reading.

To begin with, in terms of the development of creativity, works in every genre could enhance human imaginations. In my opinion, a work of literature are written more detailed and lively than films, TV news and so on: hundred of pages could be shortened in some minutes. Thus, reading allows people to picture themselves about the specific scenes or the details in their own ways, compared to watch TV, everything is put in a mold which limits viewers’ imagination. For example, I am a big fan of Harry Potter and both read and watch this world-wide famous series. One thing that I have obtained from my personal reading experience is that I could come up with creatively manifold theories for each detail or scene, particularly the final battle between Harry Potter and Voldemort.

Moreover, the more materials we read, the better we get in language skills. One of the language skills that people could improve the most is reading skill. According to research conducted in the US, people who read one book on a weekly basis could boost reading speed to four or five times greater than those who don’t build this habit. As a result, when language skills are enhanced, which support tremendously for schoolwork, tasks because a huge amount of qualified materials are written in a variety of forms. I am an IELTS learner and after reading two out of eight parts of Harry Potter, the reading band score of mine has increased significantly by 1,5.

In conclusion, I fully agree with those who argue that reading could leave a huge positive impact on imagination and language skills, which sitting in front of TV will never do.