It is sometimes argued that reading benefits people more than television programmes in terms of creative thinking and literacy skills development. I completely agree with this statement.

Reading books is a process about receiving information from the books’ writers. It allows you to immerse yourself in another world. To get into this world, you have to fully understand the meaning of each sentence, and then exert your imagination to build the world the author created. At the same time, books,especially those written by famous writers, are better in word choice and grammar than most TV programs, reading which helps you build an enormous amount of vocabulary words in certain areas. For example, J. K Rowling, the author of Harry Potter, portrays a magic world with engaging plots and marvelous words. Children have accumulated a variety of vocabulary from reading the novels as well as develop a great deal of imagination about magic, wizards and magicians. However, when the movie company adapted them into films, there are always readers dissatisfied with the films, which could explain why books prevail over television in terms of the improvement of language and imagination.

On the other hand, I would argue that the main role of most television programmes is to entertain audiences; they do not require much thought. People tend to regard watching TV as a good way to relax, thus TV companies cater to their users by offering superficial programmes such as soap operas, reality shows or entertainment news. When you turn on the TV, it is common to see the majority of channels are inundated with these shows and advertisements. People can learn very little knowledge from them, not to mention develop their creativity or language skills. If people are long-time exposed to them, they will stop thinking profoundly and become superficial.

In conclusion, it seems to me that reading books has a positive impact on people’s creative thinking and language ability development, while watching TV may affect adversely.