Schools are normally regarded as the place where the next generation can increase their knowledge to improve employment. While practical skills are useful that students should be taught about that, I disagree with the idea that academic subjects should, therefore, be replaced.

The academic subjects have a positive impact on people’s careers. To begin with, the academic knowledge that students learn in school lays the foundation for further learning of certain areas by helping them recognize their strengths and weaknesses. According to this, they can choose their major that either they are interested in or good at in the university, and deepen their study in the chosen path. After graduation, when they enter the workforce, they have been equipped with professional knowledge to compete with others despite the competition is so fierce. They can get a decent job with reasonable salaries, living a good quality of life. On the contrary, without this academic education, people can not fulfill their potential.

On the other hand, learning about practical matters also benefit students throughout their lives to some extent. For example, home management can make students more independent, and interpersonal skills will teach them how to get along well with others. However, these skills are not as important as academic subjects and can be learned from other ways like their parents or siblings. Moreover, students can not pay enough time and energy on core subjects if they have to make time for practical skills learning, which will have a negative influence on their academic performance.

In conclusion, although practical matters have some positives, I would argue that core academic subjects are more crucial to students’ careers.