The advent of various social applications has changed the way people communicate with others. While some people may hold the view that those social communication tools pose a threat to the users themselves as well as the whole society, I believe those sites have a significant positive influence on us.

It is true that social networking sites may influence us adversely. They encourage their users to show off photos looking perfect and to post some lines of words which sometimes are meaningless, which would take people a lot of time to edit the picture and the words. By doing these, people become more superficial gradually.

Apart from the potential disadvantages are massive benefits. First of all, for individuals, those social communication tools, like a bridge, connect people with each other. People nowadays can get in touch with their friends and family members through those websites whenever and wherever they want. As a result, they are less likely to drift apart. Secondly, social networking users now are provided with an opportunity to make friends from different cultural backgrounds, and that comes with a variety of benefits we may want to take advantage of. For example, by making friends with people from English-speaking countries, students can improve their English level.

Society, on the other hand, seems to can function well with the existence of social networking which provides new approaches to solve problems. For instance, teachers now can impart knowledge to their students through social apps such as Skype, without having to travel a long time to bricks and mortar classrooms. It is those social networking applications that make it possible.

In conclusion, while social networking applications may have some potential consequences, I would argue that they have brought more benefits to both individuals and the whole society.