The advent of the internet has changed the ways people live their lives. A growing number of people are now getting connected to the world through internet media. However, I do not agree that we should, therefore, consider printed books are useless.

Thanks to the eye-dazzling development of the internet, the availability of information from all kinds of digital devices provides the public with an ever convenient method of reading and learning. Most people would attribute the popularity of digital devices, like tablet computers and smartphones, to their outstanding storage capacity and the rate at which data can be transferred from the internet. In marked contrast to looking for and buying paper books in offline stores, the searching of digital books only needs a couple of clicks and downloading them can be realizable in just seconds at more affordable prices.

Although these digital devices play an indispensable role in people’s daily life, it might trigger various downsides that cannot be ignored. To begin with, devices such as computers, smartphones and iPad are usually high-priced, which means not everyone can afford them, especially to those people from disadvantaged backgrounds. If printed books were not existing anymore, they would lose access to information, which obviously is not fair. In addition, such digital devices also have a negative impact on users’ health, because one’s eye-sight will be impaired after staring at the screen of the cellphone for a long time, and I guess that’s the main reason why more and more young students have to wear glasses now.

In conclusion, I would argue that printed books still play an integral role in information obtaining, while digital gadgets could be viewed as an important supplementary.