It has been said that people who read for pleasure have more developed imaginations and language skill than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

Many opinions suppose that people who usually have a whale of a time by reading have more developments regarding imaginations and language skills than people consider watching TV as a preferrable choice. While I partly agree that the reading habit brings many benefits for people, I believe that movies also help people to promote some necessary skills.

On the one hand, it is clear that people who fall into the habit of reading do not only have better imaginations but also can improve language skills. Firstly, each book is compared to a source of raw materials, which humans use to produce their own world in the brain, and therefore, reading as much as possible gives an abundant amount of components to form vivid pictures by brains. For example, the work of literary fiction “Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea” enables readers to imagine the scenery of the seafloor with many kinds of weird animals and plants and even terrible monsters. Secondly, people obviously can improve literate skills through reading books. It is undoubted that reading more helps us to understand complicated sentences better and know how to express our ideas in many ways instead of one or two conventional ways.

On the other hand, although movies have some limitations on improving humans’ creativity, watching TV is still considered as a beneficial activity for some reasons. Firstly, TV programmes provide audiences with a large amount of lastest news without paying an arm and a leg. For example, people can keep abreast of what is happening in the communities domestically and even internationally through leading articles and breaking news that is carried out on TV programmes every day. Secondly, movies enable people to enjoy an exciting world of vivid pictures and sounds. In a certain film, audiences can understand characters faster by her high pitch or his husky voice, so they are really useful to mimic and study a new language better.

In conclusion, while I agree that reading for pleasure can promote people’s creativity and language skills, I also believe that watching TV also is a good approach to know more about our planet and give us a better understanding about new tongues.