It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares and parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

it is sometimes argued that government should build public spaces such as squares and parks in cities and towns. I completely disagree with this idea.

The argument in favour of the construction of public spaces would be that modern society needs large and fresh spaces in order to excercise, meeting, playing and so on. In other words, public spaces have attractive areas and fresh air which are suitable for outdoor activities. However, I believe this to be a very shortsighted view. To establish public spaces entails a great amount of cost, time and personnel, including expensive old tree, park bench, time for growing plants and other heavy materials. While government are still stuck with burdensome problems from pollution to literacy, it sounds a luxurious to standardise all cities with the existence of such buildings.

Several cities whose area is narrow find themselves unable to afford large squares and parks. In some circumstances, if government wanted spaces to build public areas in small cities, they would have tension in resident’s home. As a result, citizens who are forced to leave their living places are migrating to uncomfortable buildings. Another potential problems might be vandalism of the garden or drug addicts and prostitutes using large ares in evening hours as a hang-out. Consequently, public areas, which are thought to be attractive by its beauty, are becoming dangerous places because of criminals. For example, children’s naive can be used by drug dealer to transfer banned substances in the park.

In conclusion, I believe that every effort should be made by government to avoid these problems, and it would be counterproductive to build more squares and parks.