It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the help of punishment children should be taught to differentiate wrong from right even in their pre-school period. I totally disagree that abusing them is appropriate, as it may lead to physical or psychological issues.

These days, most children are brought-up by beating or shouting and this is not the best way to be taught way. First, parents do not always control their strength, especially, fathers and they may accidentally injure their children while punishing. As a result, children can face health problems, such as broken legs and arms and such traumas are not easy to treat at a young age. Second, if parents scream to their children, the latter can get depression, which may cause them to be isolated from society. After this, children tend to expect aggressive criticism from their classmates and friends for any mistake they make. For this reason, teachers and parents need to use mild forms of punishment in order to explain children in the result of their bad behavior.

In my opinion, the best and safest method of punishment would be making girls do household chores and limiting boys' access to playing games. If children behave badly, parents can apply punishment methods such as cleaning, cooking, washing the dishes or any type of chores at home that are disliked by children. Since many boys cannot imagine and spend even their one day without playing games, parents and teachers can use this for their advantage. By this way, children can understand their mistake and try not to repeat that again. Learning from their mistakes within their childhood can be very helpful for them to build better behavior and the sense of responsibility.

In conclusion, although parents and teachers shoulder the responsibility of helping children distinguish what is right and wrong, they should also be careful when deciding how to punish them. As child abuse might contribute to deterioration of child's well-being, less severe types of punishment is preferable.