It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do your agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Children and Plants have one quality in common. They grow up as they have been nurtured .Plants need to be given good care .fertilizers for it to grow and at times their branches may also have to be cut to stop them from falling on the ground.

Similarly, to children fertilizer is teaching them right and wrong and branches could be the way of teaching them. All children are different from each other and there is no one rule book to teach them all the same way .Some kids learn in the first time, some after 10 times. Some hear patiently, some have to be made to sit and teach them out.

However, as asked in the passage that 'Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction' is highly debatable. Punishment may not be 'necessary' however can be an option. In my opinion, It depends on the situation, the act and the circumstance.

If their act of a certain behaviour may not be highly impacting they can be taught in calm and polite manner. However. if their behaviour is extremely wrong, harmful or humiliating strict action needs to be taken. Then, punishment could be a way to teach them. It is certain humans remember things when they see or experience then listen.

A punishment could definitely help the kid remember his mistake, keep in mind his behaviour and be careful going forward. Whereas, just teaching them verbally may not have huge impact as they may have it in mind now but may forget latter.

Parents & teachers are two strongest pillars in the cognitive growth of children. They both have different importance, responsibility and value in a child's life.

However, parents can use stricter and harder punishment as compared to teachers as the child firstly belongs to their parents; and parents overall can pay more attention to their own child which may be difficult for a teacher to pay attention to only one child.

In order to conclude, partially support the idea of punishing children. Punishment should be a way and not necessity in every situation to teach a child right and wrong.