It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is often considered that punishment is mandatory to assist children so that they can be able to distinguish between right and wrong at an early age. I completely disagree with this opinion and think that negative punishment can often bring untoward repercussions rather than teaching children the importance of the distinction.

First of all, I believe that most parents and teachers do not know the correct way of giving punishments. So they end up smacking or spanking to the children for doing something wrong. Negative punishment can bring detrimental effects to the psychology of a child in order to interpret the distinction between right and wrong. At an early age, children are oblivious to everything and vulnerable to any kind of situation. Parents should teach them the horizon of good or bad with the utmost care. A study published in the journal Pediatrics suggests that children subjected to physical punishments risk having mental problems as adults. Other than that, in my belief, games, and stories are much more effective than punishments.

Moreover, a negative punishment triggers to poor self-esteem and low confidence that leads to poor academic performance. The children have difficulty concentrating on their study and in the worst scenario, a child may even contemplate suicide. In contrast, parents and teachers should follow the alternative way of positive punishment to make the children understand the boundaries of what is acceptable and what is not acceptable. This can include praising a child for doing something good or for stopping them doing something wrong. Teachers can arrange some activities that can depict the differences between good and bad. In this way, children can be aware of the values and actions that are acceptable in their family and society.

To recapitulate, parents and teachers are role models who facilitate the healthy, physical, mental, emotional, and social growth of a child. There are many non-violent ways to discipline a child instead of smacking, hitting or spanking them.