It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do your agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

There is a controversy that whether adult should teach children to distinguish the right things at early age, parallel with that, punishing is a method to help children remember easily these distinctions. In my view, this depends on case by case.

On the one hand, there are some behaviours, that children could do in their childhood, which parents should not punish them. Firstly, children have a tendency to cry when they want to have something but they do not receive. To respond to this kind of manner, parents should ignore them, leave them alone; they will be calm down and forget what they want soon. Secondly, because children body has developed incompletely yet, then sometime they have some action in an uncontrolled way. For instance, many babies who are under 3 years old can not know when they will pee. Therefore, for this case, parents should guide them gradually to them detect the signal before starting pee. Finally, with these cases above, the punishment means nothing; and if parents still want to apply the punishment, they may lead to serious consequences which impact on the development of children.

On the other hand, there are also some evidences that the punishment could adjust the attitude of children and make them better. However, the punishment must consider carefully about the fault which children made, and each punishment is only used for each type of children mistakes. For example, if a child paint or write something on the wall, the punishment should be requiring them doing housework; while in case of noising or fighting, the solution is suggesting them read a book. These punishments above proved the effectiveness on adjusting the children behaviour, they tend to reduce the frequency of these actions and become good children.

In conclusion, although people are still argument on the children punishment, I argue that this should be consider case by case.