It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Cultivating children’s conscience, which is the ability to distinguish right from wrong, is considered by most people as essential. For this reason, some people favour punishment as a means to instil this into children. In my opinion, while I believe that developing moral sense among children is crucial, however, not all punishments are appropriate methods.

Firstly, having a moral compass cultivated at an early age is both beneficial to children themselves and the society. When children are capable of reasoning and making correct decisions at most circumstances based on moral principles, then they may avoid the possibility of going astray and contribute to the society. For example, children who understand stealing is incorrect will not conduct such behaviour at a shopping mall when they are tempted with toys and goods that they cannot afford. Furthermore, they may also help disabled people in crossing road or carrying heavy bags when they witness such situations.

Nonetheless, most punishment approaches are inappropriate in development conscience among children. This is because they will result in negative consequences unanticipated by parents or teachers. Take corporal punishment as an example, caning children because they misbehave may send them a message that making physical pain on people who make mistakes are acceptable. In addition, they may dislike the learning process and lose the moral compass.

Although this is an example of abusive punishment methods, there are other reasonable approaches that parents and educators can practise.They may begin by reasoning with children on why inappropriate decisions they make are incorrect and help them to see the consequences. If they correct their mistakes, such as apologising to someone they have hurt, teachers can reward them, which encourage them to be well-behaved. If mistakes are repeated, parents can involve them to in community services.

In conclusion, while promoting the understanding of right and wrong is crucial for children, I believe that parents and teachers can take reasonable and non-abusive approaches to effectively deliver their teaching.