It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction?

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

The distinction between right and wrong things are an essential skill for a baby that needs to be taught at their early age. Many people consider that punishment is necessary in teaching children but I would argue it should be used as a supplement method to educate them.

It is undeniable that punishment could make children to obey and discipline, however, it is not sure that they can understand why they had to do this castigation. The first thing parent should do when a child makes a mistake is explaining for them about right and wrong behavior. Punishment should be given after helping them to remember this lesson when they clear their crime. Moreover, parents need to consider mental and emotional effects on children’s mind when applying what type of punishment. It might cause to lose of children's confidence and make them become timid, even selfish. The worries about the mistakes by themselves may lead to limit their intelligence and creativity. Thus, punishment should perform in the case of repeat of mistake many times.

Personally, punishment may be a good method in children education when performing it in right ways and positive meaning. It should be adequate to the level of mistakes and physically harmless. All of castigation lead to the final goal is changing children's characteristic and behavior positively. For example, when children break down household items, parents could offer them to make money for buying them again by doing housework. When children tell lies, teachers could force them to write discipline paper and send it to their parents instead fighting them. Thus, positive punishment might help children become disciplined and responsible.

In conclusion, I personally believe that punishment is a good method in children teaching as a supplement tool that is along with explanation and encouragement. It will be better in careful controlling and performing of parents and teachers.