It is important for people to take risks, in both their professional lives and personal lives. Do the advantages of taking these risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking risks is crucial for individuals in both public as well as private lives. The advantages of taking possible hazards are more significant than their disadvantages.

Taking risks can threaten both the person’s property and life. It also puts the organization’s reputation at a notch of a knife. For example, Kodak, a photo company filed bankruptcy after it took a risk to compete with other photo companies in 2012. The company was at a very big loss due to which the firm decided not to compete with others but rather give emphasis on their own products. Also, former WorldCom CEO Bernard Ebbers took a big personal risk in the early 2000s when he borrowed hundreds of millions of dollars to acquire stock in the business. When the accounting issue at WorldCom was revealed, the business declared bankruptcy, and Ebbers lost the majority of his personal fortune.

However, taking the risk will not always lead to bankruptcy and damage to personal and public properties but also make a person or organization at the top. There are several individuals or companies who benefitted after taking a risk. For instance, if Elon musk hadn’t taken a risk of investing in several companies like SpaceX, tesla, etc. he would not have become the richest person on the globe. Siddhartha Gautam (Gautam Buddha) is regarded as a god today because he risked his family and life. He would not have called to be a ‘Light of Asia’ if he hadn’t left his royal home and family. Also, if Apple company had not taken a risk of manufacturing gadgets using expensive materials, it would not have become the company with the highest revenue in the world. Due to such cases, taking risks is very important in both work and personal life.

In conclusion, taking a risk could be an effective and crucial way to succeed in both lives only after conducting a careful analysis of the risk-taking scenario. Careless risk-taking may bring haphazard and loss to the property and lives might have resulted.