It is justified that government money should be spent on arts. Others believe that governments should focus on health care and education. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The idea that whether the authorities should allocate money on arts or health care and education remains a source of controversy. While I believe that the works of arts are worth investigation, other aspects including health and education cannot be overlooked.

On the one hand, although maintaining art galleries and historical buildings costs a large amount of money, the state should not put an end to these institutions. The reason is that the collection of arts preserves the cultural identity of a certain country. If there were no places such as museums or historical destinations, it would be hard for the young generation to experience the feeling of awe and pride in their countries. Despite the advance in technology, youngsters could easily access whatever they want to observe through the internet, nothing can replace the sense of seeing real artifacts in person. Take the Art Museum in London as an example. Every year, hundreds of visitors come here just to observe the skeleton of dinosaurs which people cannot get a sense of amazing when seeing via a computer screen.

On the other hand, I would argue that health and education are more essential to human-beings. In terms of well-being, the state should spend money on preventative medicine instead of treatment. This is simply because the national budgets spent on illness prevention is less than treatment. When citizens are conscious that some chronic diseases like cardiovascular disease, obesity, diabetes could be prevented by simply changing their lifestyle, the number of people suffering from these diseases would reduce tremendously. Regarding education, the development of a nation depends significantly on knowledgeable residents. The government should not underestimate the importance of tertiary education.

In conclusion, while other people advocate that money should be allocated to arts, it seems to me that health and education are more crucial to invest in for all above-mentioned reasons.