It is more important for a building to serve its purpose having strong foundation. Architects need not to worry if the building is beautiful. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that most of the buildings were constructed with a purpose of a powerful foundation and architects made these possible. It is agreed that the building should be constructed not only for a specific purpose but also as a work of art. This essay will discuss that architectural design and structural foundation are both a crucial factors in construction.

To begin with, one of the important aspect to consider in doing a construction project is the building design. It provides layout for the expected plans of its appearance. It also reflects the modern design prevailing at the time of construction. For example, some of the houses, monuments, and churches built at the time of Spanish regime replicate the design of an architectural building in Spain during that time. This clearly indicates that even in the earlier time, the architects greatly considered the aesthetic beauty of the building and that they consider their work as an art.

Furthermore, a building should also be constructed to meet its purpose. It is equally important that it should have a sturdy foundation to make it stand for years. In Ortigas, for instance, some parts of the city center have been susceptible for an earthquake as it lies on the fault line so the building along this line should be built to be an earthquake proof. It is evident that all precautionary measures in building construction should be made to avoid future accidents to happen.

In conclusion, this essay acknowledges that architects should consider both the design and foundation of a building. It is recommended that all architects should have a common knowledge about it.