It is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful. Architects shouldn't worry about producing building as a work of art. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that building should be more utilitarian than beautiful. However, I disagree that architects should not make efforts about making artistic building. I believe that today's architects have the expertise and the resources to design buildings which are both- beautiful and useful

A good building should satisfy the three principle of durability, utility and beauty. It should stand up robustly and remain in good condition. It should be be useful and function well for the people using it. It should delight people and raise their spirits. A good architect should strive to fulfil each of these three attributes as well as possible.

To begin with, the burgeoning population and the scarcity of land today have raised the debate whether the buildings of today should only be useful and not beautiful. However, the skyscrapers of today are the answers to both these hindrance of economy. They accommodate a lot of people in the least amount of space and these skyscrapers are architectural marvel in terms of beauty.

Secondly, the natural resources are limited and it is need of the hour to make energy efficient building. For example, using solar panels and other energy saving measures are the need of the day. Today's architect have been successful in designing aesthetically appealing solar panels which need less space. The climate change that are taking place because of global warming need less air conditioning and yet remain cool.

To summarise, it is commendable for architects to understand function, and aesthetics both. It is big responsibility to have building which are both useful and beautiful and architects of today have the capability to do so.