It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether country’s history or international history is more necessary for children to study at schools. In my opinion, both types of history above are equally important, so I believe that it would be better for students to have a chance to acquire a knowledge of local history as well as world history.

On the one hand, the importance of studying local history at schools is certainly undeniable. It is true that local history can help bring a community together because no matter how different you are, you have shared history. When students learn about their own country’s history, they will feel somewhat proud of their country and like they ‘belong’ in their country. For example, by studying how people in the past gave up their lives so that Vietnamese juveniles will respect and be grateful more to the value of the way of life and liberty that they enjoy today they lead today. Moreover, through knowing about the local history, the young generations will know about the wonderful core values and precious lessons which have passed by ancestors. Japanese, for instance, have always been known as one of the most fortitude races in this world. This is due to the fact that they have learned from their war failures in the past.

On the other hand, studying world history is also very crucial for every child. Firstly, the trend of the world today is globalization and international integration, by interacting with other people from other cultures, a country can have opportunities to receive many marvelous achievements of countless fields from the world. However, this tendency obviously requires all people and especially children to have some knowledge of world history to form a mutual understanding in order to blend fully into this world community.

Secondly, all the countries in the world have to come through some certain stages of developing and revolution, and there were also some drawbacks of developing like slavery. Therefore, it is vital for the young generations who will become the leader of their country in the future to know about the lessons to be able to avoid those which are not good for their nation