It is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should only focus on people in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that serving the domestic citizens should be the first target of governments. However, from my viewpoint, governments should also support foreign people within their capability.

On the one hand, governments should give priorities to their people because of two reasons. Primarily, the citizens not only elect to establish the governments but also distribute their money to create the national budgets. Therefore, the fundamental purpose of the governments is to improve the living standard of people in their own countries. Secondly, financial budget of each country is limited. Hence, the fund must be spent on solving domestic problems before supporting other countries. For example, the government must invest in military equipment to protect the national securities before helping other countries avoid the war.

On the other hand, governments should also pay attention to people of other countries. The first reason is that by supporting each other, the relationship between countries can be tightened. In the context of globalization, creating strong connections with other countries becomes more important, which can bring about many benefits for countries themselves such as favourable commercial contracts or political cooperation. The second reason is that by sharing the burden with others, the government can avoid potential threats. For example, by helping other less developed countries cure diseases, governments can avoid those diseases to be imported their own countries.

In conclusion, I concur that the government must serve their own citizens first. However, they should ignore people of other countries because supporting others can help to strengthen the relationship between countries and avoid threats to be spread.