It is more important to spend public money promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There is a school of thought that it is of greater importance to allocate the national budget for furthering a wholesome lifestyle in order to combat diseases than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already suffering from illness. I completely advocate this thinking for the reasons provided below.

The first compelling rationale is that a healthy lifestyle lays the foundation for the reduction of sickness. In fact, a host of common diseases nowadays directly stem from unhealthy habits. For instance, people who lead a sedentary lifestyle are more bound to raise the risk of health issues such as obesity, cardiovascular diseases, stroke, among many others. In addition, incurable illnesses and myriad forms of cancer are also attributable to this way of living. Notwithstanding the fact that these diseases, unquestionably, can be controlled by medical advancements, it is better to hinder them from arising instead of trying to cure them, which definitely places a heavy burden on both patients and their families, and on society as a whole.

Another justification is that the nation's coffers channeling into health attainment and disease prevention would be more cost-effective. In fact, the costs of healthcare infrastructures are exorbitant, which encompass a number of facilities such as constructions of hospitals and clinics, rarely sustainable medical devices and pharmaceutical products,whereas subsidizing health promotion such as sports centers, health-related propagation is obviously more modest. As the rate of citizens adopting balance diets, regular physical activities, and preventative measures is on the increase, the incidence of hospitalization would be on the wane, efficiently dispensing with financial demand for medicine.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the merits of diverting funds to medical therapies pale in comparison with healthy lifestyle enhancement. Therefore, it is in the interest of society to make more endeavors to cement a robust way of living.