It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by a majority of citizens that the government should allocate money on given people the incentives to lead a healthy lifestyle rather than using them on those who are already diagnosed with diseases. From my personal perspective, I would partly take side with this opinion and I will further elaborate in this essay.

On the one hand, most prevailing disease in this day and age are the consequence of unhealthy eating habits and the deficiency of physical activities: obesity, diabetes, gout, etc, to name a few. It is reported that there is a rapid increase in the proportion of kids suffering from obesity as a consequence of excessive calorie consumption and low activity level, hence, should the authorities wisely allocate public money on constructing new exercising facilities and encouraging healthy habits at first, these matters would never made it appearance in society. As an old saying goes: “Prevention is better than cure”

On the other hand, there should be an adequate expenditure of the nation’s budget with the aim of providing sufficient health care to those who have already being diagnose with ailments. It would be an unmoral and egoistic approach if there is no monetary aid for these cases. Considering hereditary and unavoidable ailments such as: cardiovascular diseases that runs in family, illness that comes with ages, unexpected injuries. In the case of children who are diagnosed with inborn heart disease, it is the government’s responsibility to offer proper financial support and treatments for them. By doing so, it would not only be a great helping hand to those in need but also make a great contribution in improving the nation’s overall fitness levels and life expectancy.

In a nutshell, I would take a dim view of the idea that money should only be spent on encouraging healthy lifestyle rather than on treatments for those in need since both sides has its own reasons and public money should be equally distributed for all.