It is more important for students to study Science and Mathematics than it is for them to study History and Literature. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

There has been heated debate over the issue of whether it is more essential for students to study Science and Mathematics rather than to study History and Literature. Personally, I disagree with the statement above, for I believe that all four subjects should be taught equally as they equip students with the knowledge vital to not only their careers but also to their general lives.

There is no doubt that Science and Mathematics benefit youngsters in two main ways: improve their cognitive thinking and prepare them for a better future. ³To begin with, Mathematics develops our mind, by using reasoning and logic to solve problems, thus improving our logical thinking and problem-solving skills. ¹When asked it is common that the majority of parents, more particularly Asian parents value Science and Mathematics more than History and Literature as they believe their offspring will more likely to prosper if they pursue careers in STEM fields rather than humanities.⁴ STEM careers, undoubtedly, are in high demand, and those who excel in them will secure highly desirable jobs and enjoy stable and comfortable lifestyles; nonetheless, a nation's development depends partly on humanities as well.

While Math and Science enhance one’s ability to reason logically and think critically, History and Literature help the pupil’s social prowess. Firstly, as Vietnam’s venerable president Ho Chi Minh once said: “People have to know their history, have to understand thoroughly the roots, the identity of their homeland Vietnam”, it is important for everyone to have a good sense of their country’s history and culture to be able to honor it. ²By studying the past, disastrous events such as wars can be prevented from reoccurring. , literature can help students acquire a better understanding of their languages, which leads to an increase in their ability to communicate with others and express themselves. ⁵Particularly important these days are communication skills as the use of the internet and social media has had a myriad of negative impacts on them.

In conclusion, no subject should be more valued than others and it is essential to distribute them evenly in the curriculum as each student has their strengths, and all Science, Mathematics, History, and Literature benefit their future markedly.