It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct. There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

The protection of animal species has captured significant public attention in recent decades. Given the suggestion that there is no need for humans to prevent a natural process which is blamed for animal extinction, I totally disagree with this idea.

First, it is understandable why advocates may claim that animals becoming extinct is unavoidable due to a natural process. A given explanation is that the demise of dinosaurs is derived from a natural disaster which does not include human involvement. Also, tsunamis, forest fires, or volcanic eruptions could be the culprit of animal extinction. This thinking is valid to some extent; however, it is undeniable that human activities are also a contributor to animal extinction. Industrial activities have destroyed the natural habitat of animals, which makes them unable to find food and reproduce. Moreover, humans should be responsible for climate change by releasing an excessive amount of emissions into the atmosphere, leading to global warming. Therefore, the demise of thousands of species is dramatically decreasing because of unfavorable living conditions.

Second, the diversity of species plays an important role in human life. Animals should be protected for science activities and education as their distinctive genes could pave a way for medical breakthroughs. On top of that, the protection of wild animals is also synonymous with safeguarding the existence of mankind. For example, 95 % of forest fires were discovered and extinguished by rhinos which are a threatened species. Hence, if they decline in population, it could exert adverse impacts since fires are noticed only after they are widespread.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that the decrease in animal populations is a result of a natural process; nevertheless, mankind should still take responsibility for protecting them for human survival.