It is a natural process of animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaurs, dodos, etc.). There is no reason why people should stop this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?"

The modern era of urbanization has witnessed severe extinction of animal species as their habitats have become continuously hazardous. It is argued by some that this is a natural process and humans have no responsibility to deter this from happening. I just partly agree with this viewpoint as people also must be accountable for what they have impacted negatively on the wild environment to protect endangered species as well as retain benefits that people can get from animals.

To commence with, the notion that there is no compelling reason for humans to ameliorate the animals’ extinction is sound to some extent. The first reason is that some species have disappeared due to natural changes even before human intervention. Indeed, certain groups of species, such as dinosaurs or dodos, ... died when they succumbed to hostile changes in habitats which is proven to stem from nature’s impact on the Earth or even from other planets’ influences. Moreover, the loss of certain animal species is also a foundation for another evolution in which new species may appear with stronger survival ability so it is unnecessary to hinder it. To illustrate, after the era of dinosaurs ended, life on Earth continued followed by the emergence of other species which are supposed to be descendants of them.

However, I still opine that people must take responsibility for alleviating environmental issues and protecting wild animals. While many wild beasts went extinct from natural causes, a greater proportion of species are in danger or no longer extant due to human activities. Mass deforestation to build infrastructure or for timber harvesting has cost wild animals their living habitats, leading to food source depletion and eventually, death. Moreover, the more precious animals disappear, the more benefits from such animals people lose so protecting wildlife is also for the sake of human life. For instance, scientists have discovered solutions to fatal diseases as a result of research conducted on animals and substances extracted from animals’ bodies. Without those precious sources, a new epidemic may become incurable, beginning the collapse of human civilization.

In conclusion, although people cannot struggle with the natural selection process in which some animals die because of the lack of survival ability, humans still should take the onus to prevent negative artificial impacts on the environment. This not only protects endangered animals but also is beneficial to human life.