It is neither possible nor useful to provide university places for a high-proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that providing tertiary education for the majority of young people is both impossible and useless. My views is that I completely agree with these ideas and will outline the reasons in the essay below.

To begin with, having university degree is no longer necessary to the future of young students even in this knowledge-based society. The first reason is that students are able to join in the vocational programs. These courses not only enhance employment opportunities, but also provide job security after completion. As a result, students can tailor a good job, which helps them offer financial support for themselves as well as their family. The second reason is that if all people could get admitted to higher education, it would lead to imbalances workforce in the labor market that would greatly damage the economic structure. Students having academic qualifications tend to not work at construction sites as builders or workers as factories, so the society will lack the manual employees.

Secondly, I believe it is not workable to implement the mass university program for almost young students. In most countries like China or Korea, the demand for entering the college never ceases to rise. This puts the heavily financial burden on the governments because they must allocate national budget for exorbitant education costs. Additionally, it is simply unrealistic for universities to provide the facilities such as classroom, library and so on for the large number of students, not to mention the fact that the departments are currently short-staffed.

In conclusion, I strongly oppose the idea of carrying out higher schooling for the high proportion of young people due to the arguments presented above.