It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages ?

In this day and age, it is claimed that visiting far-flung and isolated natural habitats such as the South Pole has become a lot easier for scientific and tourist attraction purposes. Although there are some potential benefits, I believe that the demerits of this trend overshadow its merits.

Regarding the preservation factors, having human beings involved in these kinds of locations might have some merits to its protection. Since it is much easier for scientists to enter these places, some uninhibited sides of the world might prevail. As a result, this knowledge would contribute significantly to science and broaden the human beings’ horizon. Another factor worth mentioning is that tourists would be offered a golden chance to be exposed to those intriguing experiences while visiting these places. Hence, the government would receive an abundant amount of profit out of it.

On the contrary, it is an indisputable fact that those distanced natural environments possess a diverse range of flora and fauna, not to mention it is also the habitats of thousands of innocent animals. However, if these kinds of areas keep having humans pay a visit to it in the long run, gradually they would become places for exploitation purposes in order to fulfill the human’s greed. Therefore, this would lead to the degradation of the environment as well as the decrease in the number of animals in the near future. Moreover, as ways of coming to these places are not an issue anymore, human beings would make them become tourist attractions, which might be extremely potential in order to gain more profit. Another significant idea is that some proportion of tourists might not appreciate the place and have some unscrupulous actions towards them. As a consequence, their actions might pose a threat towards the unique beauty of these places.

To sum up everything that has been stated so far, having scientist as well as tourists visiting these places seems to have some remarkable benefits to the place, however, this is one of the main factors that need to be thoroughly considered in order to preserve these places.