Some people believe that for school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than parents. Others argue that parents are not less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that teachers have more significant impacts on the development of children’s intellectual and social abilities rather than their parents. Personally, although teachers play an influential role in both aspects, parents are of paramount importance on progressing intelligence and social skills of their children.

On the one hand, it is apparent that teachers have some great effects on the advancement of children in terms of intelligence and social abilities. Teacher trained well would be able to impart the knowledge of subjects in an effective way. To further explain, in a class, there are a lot of students who have different levels, which means that teachers have to design the content of lecture in order to be appropriate for both high-level and low-level groups. Furthermore, when sent to school, children have more opportunities to participate in creative games or do teamwork tasks organized by their teacher. Not only do children enhance their imagination, thinking and reasoning skills, but it also helps children to develop communication and teamwork skills.

On the other hand, parents who indeed know about their children’s personality and the kind of intelligence. If their child is an introvert, they would choose a living environment that has a park or facilities for sports so that their child has a playground and is more likely to meet some new friends as well. As a result, they gradually become more active and confident when interacting with many people. Besides, parents completely recognize what their child’s kind of intelligence is, such as, art, number, or language. For example, if a child is interested in playing the piano, his or her parents would be willing to invest in sending their child to art class to learn. Studying piano has been indicated to exceptionally improve memory, particularly verbal memory, and also build good habits, like high concentration, perseverance, and creativity.

In conclusion, while it is acknowledged that teachers are of importance in stimulating the intellect of children and social situations, it is undeniable that the role of parents on the intellectual and social development of children are highly influential.