In several parts of the world, there is currently a lack of students choosing to study science in universities and colleges. This problem occurs due to some reasons, and of course, it might have adverse impacts on society.

There are several reasons why fewer university students are choosing science as their major. Firstly, these subjects are usually more difficult and demanding, which requires students to put much effort into their study. For example, my friend who is doing a course in chemistry had to conduct too many experiments and undertake numerous projects, which prevented him from having any spare time. As a result, science subjects seem to be less attractive to students compared to economics or business subjects. Secondly, as there are currently fewer employment opportunities which are available for graduates in science fields, this might discourage learners from selecting these majors. Instead of that, they tend to choose other subjects, which enables them to find jobs more easily.

A shortage of learners in science fields can result in some negative effects. The first impact is that when fewer students decide to learn about science, there would be a serious shortage of employees working in these fields. This would lead to fewer technological developments, which would also prevent improvements in people's life quality. For instance, it would be difficult for humans to produce newer smartphones with better functions. Additionally, while a significantly increasing number of students are choosing economics and business to study, the number of job vacancies in these areas is limited. Therefore, many university graduates might face up to unemployment, which increases the burden upon society.

In conclusion, the shortage of students choosing science subjects is caused by several factors, and this issue might create serious impacts.