Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Why? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is forecast that computers will replace drivers so that they might no longer drive the car by themselves in the next few years. It is a result of several reasons and in my opinion, this development has both benefits and drawbacks.

To begin with, there is one main reason why self-driving cars will be more popular in the near future. Firstly, since artificial intelligence is more invested and developed by many giant companies such as Google or Microsoft recently, experts can use this latest technological advancement for vehicles. Therefore, cars are no longer driven by people instead of computers. Moreover, the artificial intelligence is able to analyze the potential obstacles on the road better than human due to the poorer visibility than technology, which helps to reduce the possibilities of accidents. As a result, the situation of the self-driving car which is more and more popular is reasonable.

In my perspective, this is a positive change because of one reason. The advantage is that the acquisition of driver licenses might be unnecessary so that people will spend less time and money on practicing or testing to achieve them. However, if any advanced features in these cars do not function properly and people have no skills to drive themselves, the accidents are more likely to occur. Moreover, as these means of transport seem extremely expensive, it is impossible for those who are low-income to afford. Consequently, these vehicles are just only utilized by a small group of people, normally the rich.

In conclusion, people nowadays can apply the advanced technology for driving cars, however personally, the disadvantages will outweigh the benefit.