Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Why? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Human have come a long way from the period of stone tools to their present day evolution and life of machinery and technology. However, it still have a lot more to develop in fields like infrastructure, automobile, education and so on. One such development that is being forseen by researchers is of auto-driven cars in the future.

The biggest basis behind such forecast is the ongoing testing by various multinational organization into self-driven cars. To name a few, Google along with Uber Technologies and others are investing very heavily into research of such automobile. In fact, experiments have been conducted on self-driving cars since the time of 1920s and Mercedes-Benz pioneered the first self-sufficient and truly autonomous car in the 1980s with joint projects with other organization. To add-on, laws are being passed in many countries for cars that can be driven by computer and 29 US states have such rules and regulations after the 2019. Hence, rather than being some baseless prediction of scientists, it is something that can definitely come true.

As regards to the effect of such development on masses, I think the results will be controversial. On the one side, there will be people who will gain from such technology and welcome it wholeheartedly as it is something that will reduce a lot of their driving burden. Despite this, there will be people to whom, the darker side of such progress will be as visible as the sun in the summer. As the research is being conducted in this area, so does the feedback of people regarding it is also being taken from surveys. To one's surprise, in comparison to being happy for success in such area, most people hold the grief in their heart as not only this technology will stimulate the sedentary life, it will also take away jobs from persons working in driving sectors which will ultimately give rise to unemployment.

To hammer down the final nail, I would like to express that no matter what kind of cars will be available in future, one thing which is certain is public's opinion will matter most when it will come to legalizing and standardizing such vehicles. Even though, the safety standard of self-driven cars will be certainly high but I do not think it will be enough to tear down the fear of masses when it comes to new technology.