It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

It is believed that science subjects are unpopular to students in a majority of countries. This can stem from many causes, which can give rise to several issues in society.

There are a number of factors responsible for the insufficient quantity of students enrolling in science-related subjects. Firstly, science subject such as chemistry is harder for students to get high score than social study subjects. These students find difficulty in remembering the names and reactions of a numerous amount of chemical substances, which is quite challenging to get good performance. Besides, most of science subjects, particularly physics and mathematics, have to do with the numbers. These require a lot of logical thinking and exact calculations, which leads to the fact that learners are likely to suffer stress. In contrast with the effort spent on study, students find these subjects impractical. As a result, the alternative choice which is social sciences are more popular to students.

Lack of students in science major may trigger desirable impacts on society. One possible problem could be that technological fields can be underdeveloped due to the shortage of labors in scientific careers. As a result, there will be a lack of technological breakthroughs and inventions, which leads to the slow growth of a country in compared to neighbor ones. Another issue could be that the social science professions such as psychologists or economists are made redundant since the number of graduates from that major are higher than that of science ones. Therefore, students choosing social science as a major may face with the crisis of unemployment. These problems result in the inequality in industry distribution which causes unbalanced growth of a society.

In conclusion, these are reasons for the lack of students choosing science as a major, and this may bring several problems on the society.