It is obvious that nowadays there is an increasing number of people purchasing well-known designer labels of consumer products. While this trend can account for some primary reasons, I strongly believe that this is a negative tendency.

There are two principal reasons why people have a reference for buying brand names. The first one is that marketing corporations always claim that their designer goods would bring customers the most worthy experiences. Such advertisements aim at the young generation who are easily swayed by celebrity endorsements such as Cristiano Ronaldo or David Beckham to promote their products. Furthermore, the vast majority of famous brands are normally durable and high-quality than low-cost products even though some are prohibitively expensive. As a result, those who are underprivileged would try their best to possess designer labels which they think would last long.

However, I would argue that this is completely a negative development. In terms of what ordinary people can afford, consumers are encouraged to squander their savings on designer goods which companies promise will improve their lives and make them happy. From the perspective of social development, owning those famous products will encourage crime, for example, to steal the latest smartphone from people in crowded places. Consequently, criminals will buy those band names at a low price for other people in need and this would lead to more social evils.

In conclusion, there are some essential reasons why many people find brand names attractive, I would argue that this form of consumerism gives people false ideas about what is important in their lives.