It is often argued that children must be protected from unsuitable material on TV and the Internet by government censorship. Others say that this is the parents' responsibility to control what their children do and watch. To what extent do you think that this is true?

Nowadays, television and the Internet have become an essential part of life providing people with unlimited information and programs which may not be right for all ages, especially children. Whether it is the responsibility of parents or the government to avoid children being exposed to such material has always aroused a controversy.

The government has the authority to severely control the programs on television as well as the content of the websites. Governmental officials are allowed to assign some expert producers in television industry who are educated professionally to distinguish which programs are suitable for children. They can observe the TV programs’ schedule thoroughly to let inappropriate TV series or programs be broadcasted later at night when children are asleep. This, consequently, prevents children viewing unfavorable programs. Moreover, the authorities can set some regulations on access to the websites. For instance, they can introduce children SIM cards to the market, allowing children to use the Internet via their cellphones for just some educational and entertaining websites. In this way, children are able to benefit from the Internet without being disturbed by improper materials.

Parents, on the other hand, can play a pivotal role too. Having a close relationship with their children, parents are capable of offering some alternative programs, keeping children away from television and the Internet for some time. Going to playgrounds, doing some sports, and attending some entertaining classes are all substitutions which are more beneficial for children. Furthermore, parents are able to advise and convince their children on the adverse effects of some undesirable programs, as they know their own children better than others. Mothers and fathers can manage their children in a way that they become reluctant to inadequate material on TV or the Internet.

All in all, considering the potentials of both parents and the government to address the issue, I, for one, opine that they can optimally control the exposure of the children to improper material by joining their hands and trying to make their individual contributions properly.