Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the necessity of checking the side effects of new medicines and safety of other products such as cosmetics, beauty products, and food additives have propelled researchers toward using laboratory animals before carrying any clinical trials on humans. Some people may believe that animal testing is wasteful and cruel, while others may find it helpful. In this essay, more light will be shed on the both sides.

Conducting experiments on animals may bring detrimental disadvantages including waste of effort as well as inflicting cruelty on living beings. To begin with, although there are some biological resemblances between human and some creatures like monkeys, rats, and rabbits, it does not necessarily mean that treatments have similar upshots on both of them. In other words, there is not ample evidence approving that if a medical procedure or a remedy is successful for some specific animals in laboratories, it will similarly work for human beings too. So, such examinations on animals are just useless spending of energy and budget. Furthermore, it is unethical to sentence animals to live in a laboratory for a period of time, being exposed to various treatments which may subsequently lead to their death. Animals have the same rights as humans to live freely. Captivating them in a cage to carry out a diversity of experiments not only hurts them but also shortens their lifespan, causing them to suffer from pain, loneliness, and fear.

Turning to the other side of the argument, there is a group of proponents considering animal testing as an effective solution, for it ensures the scientists of the safety and efficiency of medical processes. The supporters are of the opinion that humans are more important than all other species in the world, deserving to benefit from a great health. This is not feasible unless the researchers invent modern therapies for diseases such as cancers and AIDS, and test them on animals to check their successfulness. Therefore, applying treatments on animals seems almost inevitable to find appropriate medical procedures. Moreover, those who advocate testing on animals assert that the species being used in the experiments do not belong to the wild animals’ group. So the demise of them does not affect the environment, nor does it disturb the animals’ life cycle.

All in all, considering both sides of arguments, I can conclude that the demerits of performing medicinal examinations on animals far outweigh the advantages, since these tests are not only inhuman but also disable to propose accurate results. Instead, computer modeling can be employed by professionals to simulate an almost real situation to study the cases.