It seems clear that obesity in today’s society is to some extent due to the

availability of fast food. Should governments place a tax on fast food to reduce

the amount of fast food consumed?

Fastfood availability has made overweight a common problem in today's modern world. In order to reduce the consumption of fast food, some people argue that the government should impose the tax. I completely agree with this and will further discuss the need for tax imposal.

To begin with, fast food causes a lot of health problems due to various reasons. Firstly, it contains huge amount of sugars, lipids and oil, which eventually leads to obesity and cardiac diseases. Moreover, these days, parents due to their hectic schedule are making their kids eat this junk food. This will, in tur, lead to health issues at a very young age in the children. However, this problem can be solved by implementing certain measures.

Although fast foods are harmful to our health, certain precautions can be taken. Firstly, the government should impose heavy taxes on the sellers and in addition, healthy food should be made available to the people in the place of this junk food. It should provide emphasis on the restaurants that serve healthy diet. People should also be made aware of the consequences they face by consuming unhealthy food, by media campaigning. Furthermore, parents should educate their children on the ill effects of eating those oily foods and also should spare some of their time in cooking for their children, despite their busy life.

To summarize, the government need to impose heavy taxes on the people selling junk food and also should emphasize the people on the harmful effects of cosuming junk food.