: It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is appreciated that elementary students should learn to grow vegetables and raise animals. While this trend has both positive and negative sides, my verdict is that the obstacles outweigh the minimal benefits.

On the one hand, grasping the knowledge of cultivating vegetables and keeping animals would be minimally advantageous to primary children in terms of developing good characteristics and learning to put academic theories into practice. Initially, as growing veggies and raising animals are practical skills that may take up a considerable amount of time and dedication, some young children would accumulate a sense of responsibility and patience. Besides, these activities can help young members of society attain the capability of applying theories to practical situations. This is derived from the fact some kinds of gardening and farming requires a wide range of knowledge from the school curriculum. For example, without measuring, which is an essential mathematical concept, schoolchildren may not be able to complete their tasks in certain circumstances, such as estimating the needed distance between two rows of lettuce or the height of the cows.

On the other hand, for the reasons of time consumption and health concerns, I believe that learning these skills can bring tangible adverse effects, which outweigh the merits. To begin with, the process of gardening and keeping animals would be time-consuming; thus, it cannot fit in young students’s busy schedules. Besides, from a medical perspective, flora and fauna contain an excessive load of detrimental microorganisms, so if elementary schoolchildren receive prolonged exposure to them, they may be more prone to infectious diseases. Take rabies, a fatal zoonosis disease caused by a virus spread by an infected animal biting another animal or person, for example. It is uncurable once children get infected.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, although plants growth and animal husbandry programs have both advantages and disadvantages, I believe that it should not be taught to primary schoolchildren due to its overwheming drawbacks.